17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers


1619-1800
The newspapers, pamphlets and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media.
Subject coverage: Media & Film Studies, Literature, History, English Language & Linguistics, Creative Writing, Communication,
Problems with this database? Let us know.

19th Century British Library Newspapers


1800-1913
19th Century British Library Newspapers contains full runs of influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of the 19th century British society.
Subject coverage: Media & Film Studies, History, Communication,
Problems with this database? Let us know.

19th Century UK Periodicals


1800-1900
High quality digitised versions of periodicals, including front pages, editorials, articles, poems, recipes, advertisements and classifieds.
Subject coverage: Media & Film Studies, History, English Language & Linguistics, Creative Writing, Communication,
Problems with this database? Let us know.

Academic OneFile

newspapers, full text,
Full text articles in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, management, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Full text of UK newspapers.
Subject coverage: Psychology, All subjects, Counselling, Business & Management, Information Technology, English Language & Linguistics, Communication, Theatre, Media & Film Studies, Literature, History, Film & TV Production, Product Design, Dance, Fine Arts, American Studies,
Problems with this database? Let us know.

AMED (Allied and Complementary Medicine Database)


Current. Mainly European.
AMED is a unique bibliographic database produced by the Health Care Information Service of the British Library. It covers a selection of journals in three separate subject areas: professions allied to medicine (including physiotherapy, occupational therapy and rehabilitation); complementary medicine; and palliative care.
Subject coverage: Health & Social Care,
Problems with this database? Let us know.

America: History and Life with Full Text


1955-present
The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Subject coverage: Literature, History, American Studies,
Need help with this database? Tutorial / Guide Problems with this database? Let us know.

Anatomy and Physiology Online


19 body system modules – complete with clear 3D images, comprehensive text, clinical and case studies, learning objectives and quizzes. Interact with anatomy by peeling away layers, rotating models, and reconstructing layers back to their original structure. For access: click on the Anatomy and Physiology Online link, log on, click on the Primal Pictures tab.
Subject coverage: Sport, Health & Social Care, Dance,
Problems with this database? Let us know.

Archival Sound Recordings (British Library)


Tens of thousands of digital recordings from the British Library's global collection, covering the entire range of recorded sound from music, drama and literature, to oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds.
Subject coverage: Theatre, Music, Media & Film Studies, History, Film & TV Production, English Language & Linguistics, Dance, Communication,
Problems with this database? Let us know.

ATLAReligion with ATLASerials


Combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews and collections of essays in the fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
Subject coverage: Theology & Religious Studies, History,
Need help with this database? Help demo for ATLA Problems with this database? Let us know.

Australian Education Index


1977 - current
A comprehensive collection of educational research documents relating to educational trends, policy, and practices.
Subject coverage:
Problems with this database? Let us know.

BFI InView


Over 2,000 non-fiction film and television titles from the 20th century to the early 21st.
Subject coverage:
Need help with this database? Tutorial / Guide Problems with this database? Let us know.

Britannica Online


Online encyclopaedia. Includes text, audio, video and images on a broad range of subjects.
Subject coverage:
Problems with this database? Let us know.

British Education Index


1975-present
Information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK.
Subject coverage: Theology & Religious Studies, Sport, Psychology, English Language & Linguistics, Education, Counselling, Communication,
Problems with this database? Let us know.

British Newspapers 1600-1900


1600-1900
Combined search tool for the 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection and 19th Century British Library Newspapers.
Subject coverage: History,
Problems with this database? Let us know.

British Periodicals


The British Periodicals collection offers facsimile images and searchable text for hundreds of perdiodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth.
Subject coverage: Fine Arts, History, Literature, Sport, Theology & Religious Studies,
Problems with this database? Let us know.

Business Source Premier


1886-present
The industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998.
Subject coverage: Business & Management,
Need help with this database? Tutorial / Guide Problems with this database? Let us know.

Childlink


Childlink is a one stop source of information on children, young people and families. This innovative online database focuses on legislation, policies, and practices. When accessing off-campus, follow the Click Here to Log In Via Athens link.
Subject coverage: Education,
Need help with this database? Tutorial / Guide Problems with this database? Let us know.

CINAHL with Full Text


1981-present
CINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers.
Subject coverage: Sport, Health & Social Care, Counselling,
Need help with this database? Tutorial / Guide Problems with this database? Let us know.

Cochrane


A collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration.
Subject coverage: Sport, Health & Social Care,
Problems with this database? Let us know.

Dance in Video


Dance in Video will contain 500 hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. This release includes 278 videos, equalling 230 hours.
Subject coverage: Dance,
Need help with this database? Tutorial / Guide Problems with this database? Let us know.

Digital Theatre Plus


Full-length films of current leading British theatre productions: Shakespeare plays, modern dramas, musicals, operas, and adaptations of classic novels. Insight from practitioners and accessible study guides.
Subject coverage: Literature, Music, Theatre,
Problems with this database? Let us know.

Drama Online


Access to hundreds of drama texts from Aeschylus to the present day from Methuen Drama, the Arden Shakespeare and Faber and Faber. Guidance from scholarly notes, annotated texts, critical analysis and contextual information.
Subject coverage: Community Arts, Literature, Theatre,
Problems with this database? Let us know.

EBSCOHost Research Databases


Choose EBSCOHost if you would like to search across multiple databases: AMED, ATLA Religion, CINAHL, Historical Abstracts, IBDT, Literary Reference Centre, MEDLINE, MLA, PsycArticles, PsycInfo, SPORTDiscus, Teacher Reference Centre and others.
Subject coverage: Sport, Psychology, Health & Social Care, Counselling, Theology & Religious Studies, Education, English Language & Linguistics, Communication, Theatre, Literature, History, Dance, Creative Writing, Creative Industries, Community Arts, American Studies,
Problems with this database? Let us know.

Education in Video


Online collection of streaming video for training and developing teachers
Subject coverage: Education,
Problems with this database? Let us know.

Embase


1974-present
Embase is a biomedical and pharmacological database which contains over 22 million records from 1974 onwards. Embase covers the following areas: drug therapy and research; basic biological science; biotechnology and biomedial engineering; health policy and management; psychiatry and mental health; forensic science.
Subject coverage: Sport, Psychology, Health & Social Care,
Need help with this database? Tutorial / Guide Problems with this database? Let us know.

Emerald Library


1989-present
Full text articles in the areas of management, human resources, marketing, logistics, operations and product management, librarianship and information management.
Subject coverage: Information Technology, Business & Management,
Need help with this database? Online tutorial Help guide Problems with this database? Let us know.

ERIC


1966-present
Bibliographic records for education-related literature, plus a growing collection of full text articles.
Subject coverage: Sport, Psychology, Education, Counselling,
Problems with this database? Let us know.

Fame


Covers over 8 million companies (UK and Ireland)
Fame contains comprehensive information on companies in the UK and Ireland. You can use it to research individual companies, search for companies with specific profiles and for analysis. Searches can be made by company name or by criteria such as location, turnover size and number of employees.
Subject coverage: Business & Management,
Problems with this database? Let us know.

Gale Virtual Reference Library


Theology and Religious Studies reference eBooks - mostly short articles and bibliographies.
Subject coverage: Theology & Religious Studies,
Need help with this database? Help demo for GVRL Problems with this database? Let us know.

Global Market Navigator


Global statistical market information
Subject coverage: Business & Management,
Problems with this database? Let us know.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text


1955-present
An exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and much more. This authoritative database provides indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
Subject coverage: History,
Need help with this database? Tutorial / Guide Problems with this database? Let us know.

House of Commons Parliamentary Papers


1801-2004
Searchable full text of parliamentary papers detailing legislation, policy making and the political environment of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries.
Subject coverage: History,
Problems with this database? Let us know.

Index to Theses


1716-present
A comprehensive listing of theses with abstracts accepted for higher degrees by universities in Great Britain and Ireland since 1716. Includes some full text.
Subject coverage:
Problems with this database? Let us know.

Infotrac Custom Newspapers


Full text for UK newspapers, including The Daily Telegraph, The Guardian, The Independent, The Times, and The Sunday Times.
Subject coverage: Film & TV Production, Dance, Media & Film Studies,
Problems with this database? Let us know.

Infotrac Resources


Cross-search for Academic OneFile, Gale Virtual Reference Library, Infotrac Custom Newspaper Database and historical newspaper databases.
Subject coverage:
Problems with this database? Let us know.

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance (IBTD)


1984-present
Bibliographic data and full text for students and researchers in the disciplines of theatre and the performing arts.
Subject coverage: Theatre, Music, Film & TV Production, Dance,
Problems with this database? Let us know.

Internet Archaeology


1996 to date
Internet Archaeology is the first fully refereed e-journal for archaeology and publishes articles of a high academic standing which utilise the potential of electronic publication, video, audio, searchable data sets, full-colour images, visualisations, animations and interactive mapping. Internet Archaeology is hosted by the Department of Archaeology at the University of York and published by the Council for British Archaeology.
Subject coverage: History,
Need help with this database? Notes on access Problems with this database? Let us know.

John Johnson Collection


Fully searchable colour images of 65,000 items from the Bodleian Library's John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera, offering unique insights into the changing nature of everyday life in the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
Subject coverage:
Problems with this database? Let us know.

JSTOR


JSTOR is a digital archive of academic journals. Information Learning Services provides access to: Arts & Sciences III (covering languages and literature, as well as essential titles in the fields of music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the history and study of art and architecture; Arts & Sciences VIII (covering history, language & literature, art & art history, and education); Language & Literature (including PMLA and core literary criticism journals).
Subject coverage: Theatre, Music, Media & Film Studies, Literature, History, Fine Arts, English Language & Linguistics, Education, Creative Writing, Community Arts, American Studies,
Need help with this database? Tutorial / Guide Problems with this database? Let us know.

Literary Reference Centre (with MLA)


Literary reference database, combining information about authors and works from encylopaedia and reference works and literary journals.
Subject coverage: Literature,
Problems with this database? Let us know.

Marketline


Business information from around the world, across markets and inside companies, including interactive reports and databases.
Subject coverage: Business & Management,
Problems with this database? Let us know.

MEDLINE


MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings).
Subject coverage: Sport, Health & Social Care,
Problems with this database? Let us know.

Mintel


UK market reports in E-Commerce, Leisure, Travel industry, Technology and Library horizons.

If you are logging on to Mintel for the first time, please follow these instructions.
Subject coverage: Sport, Business & Management,
Problems with this database? Let us know.

MLA International Bibliography


1920-present
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
Subject coverage: English Language & Linguistics, Communication, Literature,
Need help with this database? Tutorial / Guide Problems with this database? Let us know.

Music Online: Listening


Cross-search audio tracks, scores, reference works, and video from American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Dance in Video, Jazz Music Library and Smithsonian Global Sound.
Subject coverage: Music, Dance, American Studies,
Problems with this database? Let us know.

NewsVault


1600-present
Cross searches a range of historical newspaper collections, including 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, 19th Century British Library Newspapers and 19th Century UK Periodicals.
Subject coverage: History, Media & Film Studies,
Problems with this database? Let us know.

NICE Evidence Search


NICE Evidence Search is a service that enables access to authoritative clinical and non-clinical evidence and best practice through a web-based portal. To access the limited number of journals and databases on NICE Evidence Search you will need an NHS Athens username and password. If you haven't received your NHS Athens username and password please contact v.watt@yorksj.ac.uk
Subject coverage: Health & Social Care,
Need help with this database? Tutorial / Guide Problems with this database? Let us know.

OAIster


OAIster is a union catalog of millions of records representing open access digital resources that was built by harvesting from open access collections worldwide.
Subject coverage:
Problems with this database? Let us know.

OTSeeker


Abstracts of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy. Trials have been critically appraised and rated to assist you to evaluate their validity and interpretability.
Subject coverage: Health & Social Care,
Problems with this database? Let us know.

Oxford English Dictionary


OED online.
Subject coverage: English Language & Linguistics, Communication, Literature,
Problems with this database? Let us know.

Oxford Music Online


All aspects of music worldwide. Includes access to Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music.
Subject coverage: Music,
Problems with this database? Let us know.

Oxford Reference Online


Cross-searchable language and subject reference works.
Subject coverage: Literature,
Problems with this database? Let us know.

PEDro


Bibliographic details and abstracts of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in Physiotherapy, randomised controlled trials and systematic reviews.
Subject coverage: Health & Social Care,
Problems with this database? Let us know.

PILOTS


The PILOTS bibliographic database, covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress, is produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in White River Junction, Vermont. The PILOTS database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical
Subject coverage: Health & Social Care,
Problems with this database? Let us know.

Project Muse


A collection of over 540 peer-reviewed interdisciplinary full-text journals for Humanities and Social Sciences.
Subject coverage: Theology & Religious Studies, Theatre, Product Design, Music, Media & Film Studies, Literature, History, Fine Arts, Film & TV Production, English Language & Linguistics, Education, Dance, Creative Writing, Creative Industries, Community Arts, American Studies,
Need help with this database? Tutorial / Guide Problems with this database? Let us know.

PsycARTICLES


Full-text articles in general and specialized psychology.
Subject coverage: Psychology, Health & Social Care, Counselling,
Problems with this database? Let us know.

PsycINFO


The PsycINFO database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
Subject coverage: Sport, Psychology, Health & Social Care, Counselling, Theology & Religious Studies, Education, Business & Management, English Language & Linguistics, Communication,
Need help with this database? Tutorial / Guide Problems with this database? Let us know.

Regional Business News


This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Subject coverage: Business & Management,
Need help with this database? Tutorial / Guide Problems with this database? Let us know.

Routledge Performance Archive


A developing resource, giving access to previously unavailable audio-visual material from past and present practitioners of performance. It is a regularly updated collection of streamed video and audio footage with relevant critical commentary. Currently available on campus only.
Subject coverage: Theatre, Dance, Community Arts,
Problems with this database? Let us know.

Social Care Online


Social Care Online is a portal to the UK's largest collection of information on social work and social care. You can find everything from research briefings, to reports, government documents, journal articles, events and websites with the click of a button. Updated daily by SCIE's experienced information managers, Social Care Online offers unrivalled free access and ease of use.
Subject coverage: Education, Health & Social Care,
Need help with this database? Tutorial / Guide Problems with this database? Let us know.

Sociological Index


Index with some full text
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2.1 million records and full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
Subject coverage: English Language & Linguistics, Education, Counselling, Theology & Religious Studies, Psychology, Health & Social Care,
Problems with this database? Let us know.

SportDiscus


Provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre, SPORTDiscus offers comprehensive bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines.
Subject coverage: Sport, Health & Social Care, Dance,
Need help with this database? Tutorial / Guide Problems with this database? Let us know.

TRIP


The TRIP Database is a clinical search engine designed to allow clinicians to quickly find answers to their clinical questions using the best available evidence.
Subject coverage: Health & Social Care,
Problems with this database? Let us know.

VADS


A portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning, teaching and research in the UK.
Subject coverage: Fine Arts, Product Design,
Problems with this database? Let us know.

ZETOC


1993-present
Zetoc provides access to the British Library's Electronic Table of Contents of around 20,000 current journals and around 16,000 conference proceedings published per year. ZETOC is updated on a daily basis, and includes an email alerting service, to enable you to keep up-to-date with relevant new articles and papers.
Subject coverage: Dance,
Problems with this database? Let us know.