information learning services

Where can I find databases?

17th–18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers

The newspapers, pamphlets and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757–1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media.

19th Century British Library Newspapers

19th Century British Library Newspapers contains full runs of influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments.

Academic OneFile

Full text articles in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, management, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Full text of UK newspapers.

ACM Digital Library

Full text of every article published by the Association for Computing Machinery and bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing.

AMED

AMED is a unique bibliographic database produced by the Health Care Information Service of the British Library. It covers a selection of journals in three separate subject areas: professions allied to medicine (including physiotherapy, occupational therapy and rehabilitation); complementary medicine; and palliative care.

America: History & Life

The definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.

American Song

American Song is a history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from American's past.

Anatomy and Physiology Online

Anatomy and Physiology Online is an innovative, integrated, multimedia learning resource, featuring 20 interactive modules utilizing effective techniques to help students master anatomy and physiology. With content equivalent to the major anatomy and physiology text books, Anatomy & Physiology Online brings learning to life with interactive 3D models, narrated animations, and a comprehensive atlas of micro-anatomy, histology and dissection images, as well as a wealth of ancillary content that covers aging, case studies, common clinical conditions and quizzes.

Once you reach the Anatomy and Physiology website, you may need to select "Click here to login" to access materials; you will not need to enter any more details.

Anatomy TV

Published by Primal Pictures Ltd, anatomy.tv is our online version of our 3D anatomy software.

Archival Sound Recordings

Tens of thousands of digital recordings from the British Library's global collection, covering the entire range of recorded sound from music, drama and literature, to oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds.

Art, Design & Architecture

A comprehensive survey of current publications in the fields of visual and applied arts. This collection includes the specialist indexes ARTbibliographies Modern (covering modern and contemporary art), Design and Applied Arts Index (for all aspects of design and crafts) and the International Bibliography of Art (covering scholarship on Western art history), together with a complementary collection of current full-text journals, Arts and Humanities Full Text.

ARTbibliographies Modern

This database is the only specialist bibliography available for the study of modern and contemporary art. Covers all art forms, including fine art, digital art, crafts, design and photography. Features full abstracts and indexing from art journals published from the late 1960s onwards. Also incorporates book records, including those drawn from the collections of the Tate Library and the Bibliothèque Dominique Bozo, Musée LAM.

Arts & Humanities Full Text

This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies. It is designed to complement the following indexes: ABM, Avery, BHA, BHI, DAAI, Index Islamicus, MLA, Philosopher's Index and RILM.

ATLAReligion

Combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews and collections of essays in the fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.

BFI InView

Over 2,000 non-fiction film and television titles from the 20th century to the early 21st.

Box of Broadcasts

BoB enables all staff and students in subscribing institutions to choose and record any broadcast programme from 60+ TV and radio channels. The recorded programmes are then kept indefinitely (no expiry) and added to a growing media archive (currently at over 1 million programmes), with all content shared by users across all subscribing institutions. The user-friendly system allows staff and students to record and catch-up on missed programmes on and off-campus, schedule recordings in advance, edit programmes into clips, create playlists, embed clips into VLEs, share what they are watching with others, search a growing archive of material, plus more.

Please note: archive programmes may be streamed as flash files which will not play on Apple iOS and more recent Android devices. These can be viewed on a PC.

Britannica Image Quest

Britannica Image Quest provides access to 3 million rights-cleared images from more than 50 of the best collections in the world. The Bridgeman Art Gallery, Dorling Kindersley Images, Getty Images, the National Portrait Gallery of London, the National Geographic Society, and other leading names have joined with Britannica to provide the best and broadest collection of proprietary educational imagery.

British Education Index

Information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK.

British History Online

British History Online is a digital library of key printed primary and secondary sources for the history of Britain and Ireland, with a primary focus on the period between 1300 and 1800. We aim to support the learning, teaching and research of our users from around the world. BHO was founded by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust in 2003. Our collection currently contains over 1,200 volumes and is always growing.

British Newspapers 1600–1900

Combined search tool for the 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection and 19th Century British Library Newspapers.

British Periodicals

The British Periodicals collection offers facsimile images and searchable text for hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth to the early twentieth centuries.

Business Source Premier

The industry's most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998.

Child Development & Adolescent Studies

Child Development & Adolescent Studies, produced by NISC, is today's source for references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. Book reviews and abstracts from hundreds of journals and a bibliography of thousands of technical reports, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations covering biomedical and social sciences worldwide are indexed. More than 342,000 records are included with over 10,000 new records added each year.

ChildLink

Childlink is a one stop source of information on children, young people and families. This innovative online database focuses on legislation, policies, and practices. When accessing off-campus, follow the Click Here to Log In Via Athens link.

CINAHL with full text

CINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. CINAHL with full text provides full text for more than 610 journals.

Classical Music Library

Classical Music Library is a growing database of classical music recordings. Coverage includes music written from medieval times to the present, including many contemporary composers.

Classical Music in Video

Classical Music in Video contains up to 1,000 hours of classical music performances and masterclasses captured on video - approximately 1,500 performances in all.

Classical Scores Library Volume I

Classical Scores Library Volume I contains over 400,000 pages of the most important classical music scores, manuscripts, and previously unpublished material, allowing for the study and analysis of more than 25,000 musical scores.

Classical Scores Library Volume II

Classical Scores Library Volume II is the follow-up to Alexander Street's critically acclaimed Classical Scores Library Volume I and will bring together 200,000 pages when complete. It's the first online score collection for libraries that's composed mostly of in-copyright classical scores from major composers and editions. The comprehensive collection contains full, study, piano, and vocal scores, and will provide valuable source material for teachers and students of music history, performance, appreciation, and theory.

Cochrane Library

A collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration.

Contemporary World Music

Contemporary World Music delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent. The database will contain important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.

COPAC

A combined search tool for the catalogues of some of the largest university research libraries in the UK and Ireland.

CORE

CORE (COnnecting REpositories) aims to facilitate free access to scholarly publications distributed across many systems. As of today, CORE gives you access to millions of scholarly articles aggregated from many Open Access repositories.

Dance in Video

Dance in Video will contain 500 hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. This release includes 278 videos, equalling 230 hours.

Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI)

This database is the premier source of information for all aspects of design and crafts, from textiles and ceramics to vehicle design, advertising and sustainability. Covers journal articles, exhibition reviews and news items from 1973 to the present.

Discover

Full-text searching for York St John University students and staff.

DigiMap Ordnance Survey

Using DigiMap, you can view, annotate and print maps from a variety of geospatial data providers. It's also possible to download geospatial data for use in CAD and GIS systems and access information about geospatial data and resources. First-time users will need to register with DigiMap before being able to use the resource.

Digital Theatre Plus

Full-length films of current leading British theatre productions: Shakespeare plays, modern dramas, musicals, operas, and adaptations of classic novels. Insight from practitioners and accessible study guides.

Dissertations and Theses: UK & Ireland

A comprehensive listing of theses with abstracts accepted for higher degrees by universities in Great Britain and Ireland since 1716. Includes some full text.

Drama Online

Access to hundreds of drama texts from Aeschylus to the present day from Methuen Drama, the Arden Shakespeare and Faber and Faber. Guidance from scholarly notes, annotated texts, critical analysis and contextual information.

To access this resource off campus, you will be required to log in with your York St John University username and password an additional time. If you need further assistance with logging in, please contact your Academic Liaison Librarian.

Early European Books

Early European Books traces the history of printing in Europe from its origins through to the close of the seventeenth century, offering full-colour, high-resolution facsimile images of rare and hard-to-access printed sources.

Education in Video

Education in Video: Volume I provides resources for both new and experienced teachers tools to increase their knowledge and skills and for education faculty to link abstract theories of education to real-world students and classrooms.

EMBASE

Embase is a biomedical and pharmacological database which contains over 22 million records from 1974 onwards. Embase covers the following areas: drug therapy and research; basic biological science; biotechnology and biomedical engineering; health policy and management; psychiatry and mental health; forensic science.

Emerald

Full text articles in the areas of management, human resources, marketing, logistics, operations and product management, librarianship and information management.

ERIC

Bibliographic records for education-related literature, plus a growing collection of full text articles. Predominantly US in focus.

EThOs

Electronic Theses Online, provided by the British Library, is the UK's national thesis service, aiming to provide access to as many of the UK's doctoral research theses as possible. By searching here, you can find the full text of many theses entirely online. Of those not available online, many are available to be ordered for scanning.

FAME

Fame contains comprehensive information on companies in the UK and Ireland. You can use it to research individual companies, search for companies with specific profiles and for analysis. Searches can be made by company name or by criteria such as location, turnover size and number of employees.

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text

Film & TV Literature Index with Full Text is the definitive online tool for film and television research. Subject coverage includes film and television theory, preservation and restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. The database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 380 publications (and selected coverage of 300), as well as full text for more than 120 journals, and 100 books.

The Freedom Collection

The Freedom Collection is a leading full-text database offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books.

FT.com

FT.com interactive provides access to the full text of the global editions of the Financial Times to search and browse the archives, including interactive features and extra reports on industry sectors and companies.

N.B. When you first access FT.com, you will need to register at the FT.com registration page.

Gale Virtual Reference Resource

Theology and Religious Studies reference eBooks – mostly short articles and bibliographies.

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music is the first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music.

Global Market Navigator

Global statistical market information.

Historical Abstracts

An exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and much more. This authoritative database provides indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. Includes access to the full text for 349 journals and 120 books.

Historical Texts

The full text of over 350,000 books published in Great Britain from 1475-1900 including over 65,000 19th Century books.

House of Commons Papers

Searchable full text of parliamentary papers detailing legislation, policy making and the political environment of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries.

Infotrac Custom Newspapers

Full text for UK newspapers, including The Daily Telegraph, The Guardian, The Independent, The Times, and The Sunday Times.

International Bibliography of Art (IBA)

The definitive resource for scholarly literature on Western art, IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and retains the editorial policies which made BHA one of the most trusted and frequently consulted sources in the field. The database includes records created by the Getty Research Institute in 2008-09, with new records created by ProQuest using the same thesaurus and authority files.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)

This database includes over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year.

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance

Bibliographic data and full text for students and researchers in the disciplines of theatre and the performing arts.

Jazz Music Library

The Music Online Jazz Music Library is the largest and most comprehensive collection of streaming jazz available online – with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres.

John Johnson Collection

This collection provides access to thousands of items selected from the John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera, offering unique insights into the changing nature of everyday life in Britain in the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.

Journal Archives

More than 3.75 million articles from the archives of over 600 journals of major publishers and societies, including Brill, Institution of Civil Engineers, Institute of Physics, ProQuest, Oxford University Press, Royal Society of Chemistry, and Spare Rib.

JSTOR

JSTOR is a digital archive of academic journals. Information Learning Services provides access to: Arts & Sciences III (covering languages and literature, as well as essential titles in the fields of music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the history and study of art and architecture; Arts & Sciences VIII (covering history, language & literature, art & art history, and education); Language & Literature (including PMLA and core literary criticism journals).

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.

Literary Reference Center

Literary reference database, combining information about authors and works from encyclopedia and reference works and literary journals.

Marketline

Business information from around the world, across markets and inside companies, including interactive reports and databases.

MediaHub

A huge range of multimedia items, including music, film and images. All available to search in one easy to use interface.

MEDLINE

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.

Mintel

UK market reports in E-Commerce, Leisure, Travel industry, Technology and Library horizons.

MLA Bibliography

MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations covering English Language, Linguistics, Communication and English Literature. Produced by the Modern Language Association.

Music & Performing Arts

Cross-search audio tracks, scores, reference works, and video from American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Dance in Video, Jazz Music Library and Smithsonian Global Sound.

NewsVault

Cross searches a range of historical newspaper collections, including 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, 19th Century British Library Newspapers and 19th Century UK Periodicals.

NICE Evidence Search

NICE Evidence Search is a service that enables access to authoritative clinical and non-clinical evidence and best practice through a web-based portal.

If you are affiliated to an NHS-funded course (e.g. Occupational Therapy, Physiotherapy) then you are entitled to access to the NHS Core Content which can be searched through this portal. Please email the Academic Liaison Librarian for Health & Life Sciences, Ruth Patterson (r.patterson@yorksj.ac.uk), to obtain a username and password.

OAIster

OAIster is a union catalogue of millions of records representing open access digital resources that was built by harvesting from open access collections worldwide.

Opera in Video

Opera in Video contains five hundred hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon.

OT Seeker

Abstracts of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy. Trials have been critically appraised and rated to assist you to evaluate their validity and interpretability.

Oxford English Dictionary Online

The Oxford English Dictionary Online is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words – past and present – from across the English-speaking world.

Oxford Handbooks Religion Collection Online

A collection of encyclopedia articles on religion and theology from Oxford Handbooks. Fully searchable by keyword.

Oxford Music Online

All aspects of music worldwide. Includes access to Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music.

PEDro

Bibliographic details and abstracts of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in Physiotherapy, randomised controlled trials and systematic reviews.

PILOTS

This bibliographic database, covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress, is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its provides citations and abstracts to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events.

Popular Music Library

Music Online's Popular Music Library contains a wide range of popular music from around the world, including hundreds of thousands of tracks from major genres in pop music, including alternative, country, Christian, electronic, hip-hop, metal, punk, new age, R&B, reggae, rock, soundtracks and many more.

Project Muse

A collection of over 540 peer-reviewed interdisciplinary full-text journals for Humanities and Social Sciences.

ProQuest Sociology Full Text

This database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.

PsycARTICLES

PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.

PsycINFO

The PsycINFO database, American Psychological Association's (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioural science and mental health.

Psychological Experiments Online

Psychological Experiments online is a multimedia collection of over thirty important psychological experiments of the 20th and 21 centuries, including the Stanford Prison Experiment, Pavlov’s dogs, Halo effect and the Bystander effect. The database includes video clips, website links, interviews with psychologists, suggestions for classroom activities and access to supporting theories and literature.

Routledge Performance Archive

A developing resource, giving access to previously unavailable audio-visual material from past and present practitioners of performance. It is a regularly updated collection of streamed video and audio footage with relevant critical commentary.

Science Direct

Science Direct is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books.

Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries

Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.

Social Care Online

Social Care Online is a portal to the UK's largest collection of information on social work and social care. You can find everything from research briefings, to reports, government documents, journal articles, events and websites with the click of a button. Updated daily by SCIE's experienced information managers, Social Care Online offers unrivalled free access and ease of use.

Social Services Abstracts

This database provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes thousands of serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.

Sociological Abstracts

This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers. Cited references are included for many journal articles.

Sociological Index

SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2.1 million records and full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.

Sociology Collection

This collection provides access to Sociological Abstracts in combination with other databases covering the international literature in sociology and social services, along with related fields. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, including deep indexing and full text from hundreds of leading sociology journals.

SPORTDiscus

Provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre, SPORTDiscus offers comprehensive bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines.

Teacher's TV from Education in Video

Teacher's TV from Education in Video provides access to all 3,530 globally-acclaimed instructional videos produced in 2008 by the United Kingdom's Department of Education to train and develop teachers' skills through demonstrations and commentary by teachers, administrators, and other educational experts.

Third Sector Knowledge Portal

The Portal provides a central point for research and information on the voluntary, community and social enterprise sectors in the UK and internationally. It was developed by the Third Sector Research Centre (TSRC) in collaboration with the British Library and offers free access to a collection of research resources in areas such as commissioning, social and economic impact, equality and diversity, volunteering and giving, social enterprise, etc.

TRIP

The TRIP Database is a clinical search engine designed to allow clinicians to quickly find answers to their clinical questions using the best available evidence.

UKPress Online

UKPress Online is a British newspaper archive covering the Daily Mirror, the Daily Express, the Daily Star and other major titles, all as published and searchable by name, word, phrase and date. Date coverage varies by title.

The Vogue Archive

A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution colour page images. The archive preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day.

Web of Science

Web of Science provides access to the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975–), the Social Science Citation Index (1970–) and the Science Citation Index (1970–).

Web of Science guides you through the search and discovery process from a single platform. You can search across data, books, journals, patents, and more. Find, analyse, and share the most relevant information in science, social science, arts and humanities. Discover emerging trends to inform your research, and identify collaborators with influence.

ZETOC (Electronic Table of Contents)

ZETOC provides access to the British Library's Electronic Table of Contents of around 20,000 current journals and around 16,000 conference proceedings published per year. ZETOC is updated on a daily basis, and includes an email alerting service, to enable you to keep up-to-date with relevant new articles and papers.

General resources

Faculty of Arts

York St John Business School

Faculty of Education & Theology

Faculty of Health & Life Sciences

New resources